Devoxx Morocco 2023

This week has been great !!! I have participated for first time to Devoxx Morocco, as speaker, and put foot in Africa for first time too.

Devoxx Morocco, it’s a conference with people all over the world, sharing a dreamy place with technology and great conversations.

During 4 days and 5 rooms, the talented speakers (plus me) have shared content about different topics like AI, DevOps, Front End, Java, and Cloud among others.

I was staying at Hilton Taghazout hotel like other speakers and attendees. I have to mention that the service was amazing, kind and helpful helping me with my doubts and walking me to the place I was asking for, my room was awesome, and the most important part, WiFi worked perfectly well at 30 Mbps speed. Spetial mention to its swimming pools and direct access to the beach….like a dream.

I had the great opportunity to give a talk about Testcontainers, a library that allows connecting containers to the application live cycle in order to test with real tools instead of mocking, and a brief introduction of Quarkus, while sharing the concept of clean code and the help that Sonar is providing in tooling and methodologies.

Slides: bit.ly/testcontainers Video(old): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNTndmwOHcM

There was also time to attend a few talks, mainly about AI as I’m collecting food for my next talk 🙂 

A very interesting one from Sara El-Ateif about “The Art of Prompt Engineering for AI Conversations”, where she talked about how to improve in the creation of prompts, fine tunning and tools we can use.

Slides: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1gPdXRiFiFUkaRikbjT7boGae6ZPwasJ8

Another interesting talk, from Juan Tomas Garcia was related to IA and LLM history and then introducing Langchain.

It was time also to learn and discuss with Vincent Mayers, about community and the role that we as individuals can play towards our own development and in the growth of these groups.

There was a very nice moment, attending my colleague Marharita’s session about Kotlin and debugging.

But, the most important part has been all the conversations, connections, plans, that happened on the “Hallway track”, or more precisely in the “Pool & Beach track”.

The organization of the conference has achieved a great atmosphere, where I could feel the proximity of the audience, in an event that can serve as an example of others with its level of diversity. 

This conference is a perfect place to enjoy the Moroccan culture food and people, along with learning about technologies and more importantly enrich their network meeting people from different backgrounds and areas.

I come back with lots of notes and ideas to learn and explore 🙂

Hope to come back next year.

This entry was posted in conference and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Devoxx Morocco 2023

  1. Pingback: 2023 Summary | Jonathan Vila

Leave a comment